Thank You For Loving Me

I’d like to thank the good people who helped my good friend joel….Many thanks.:-) – Kamalayang Kalayaan

Thank You For Loving Me
By Joel Tangunan

Please allow me to thank from the bottom of my heart the following persons who gave me the opportunity to start writing songs again. Kamalayang Kalayaan, who posted my blog entitled: The Music of My Right Hand’s Notes and who really exerted efforts from the heart to email some people and making request from some senators for me to have a brand new M-Audio midi piano that I need.

Uncle Peter, Auntie Kim and Brandon Chia of HDI Network, are the ones who bought the brand new M-Audio midi piano for me and immediately sent it to me last May 1. The Chia family has been helping my Cericos family since 1994, and developed special connection and unconditional love with each one of us.

They are already in our lives since we were kids. Thank you Uncle Peter, Auntie Kim and Brandon for being there for us always. And last but definitely not the least, Tita Chit Nicolas and Ninang Melette Floresca for spending times and unconditional love of doing everything for us, Cericos siblings.

Both Tita Chit and Ninang Melette searched where to buy the midi piano and arranged to send it to me the following day. What else can I say? Thank you all for loving me!

*********************************************************

The Music of My Right Hand’s Notes
February 24, 2010 by Kamalayang Kalayaan

I’m appealing to someone who have a good heart…to help my good friend Joel Tangunan with his simple request. Many thanks…..- Kamalayang Kalayaan

My Right Hand

The Music of My Right Hand’s Notes
By Joel Tangunan

My greatest happiness in life does not depend on the condition of my life in which chance has placed me. When I was 12 years old, I started to have the eagerness to learn how to play the piano. I’ve learned the basic from my late foster mom who was so persisted to teach me, maybe because she saw some potential in me. I was so frustrated at that time because at the moment my right hand touched the surface of the piano and pressed every note of the most popular songs that my ears wanted to hear me playing, my right hand was in pain because of its tenderness and twisted structure and so the chords were sounded broken. Every note wasn’t on its right place, as my disabled right hand was painfully trying to play even the simple do re mi. Slowly, I was losing the fondness to learn. My mom stopped encouraging me when I was already refusing her every time she would call me in front of our old piano to teach me. I never played piano again after I’ve learned that I can’t.

But I hear a particular tune that keeps on playing in my sleepless nights, so one day, after a long while, I found myself in front of that old piano, trying to capture that music inside me, continuously annoying and burning me to explode it, and while playing every note painfully, it led me to write my very first composition entitled KAPANSANAN (disability) and the lyrics said:

Narito ako, isinilang sa mundo
May kapansanan sa daigdig na magulo
Masdan mo ako at huwag kahabagan
Ang mundo ko’y kaka-iba sayo kaibigan

Mundong kay ganda sa aking paningin
Walang masama at hindi rin madilim
Pagkat ako’y nilikha upang ipakita
Na ang kapansanan ay may kasagutan

CHORUS

Kapansanan ko’y walang pagkaka-iba
Sayo kaibigan, ito’y katawan lamang na
Kayang pag-ingatan
Malinis na puso, diwa at gawa
Tanging yon lamang ang siyang kailangan.

Since then, I never stopped playing piano and writing songs.

As a handicap and a songwriter, broken chords are the melodies of my life’s story, full of notes and sufferings but it’s beautiful to tell and hear. They all created a perfect harmony in my life to express that disability is not a sign of having a lifeless life and not a measurement of a frail being but it’s just like a song to be sang with full of love and gratefulness. I used to hate this very flabby right hand of mine because it manifests my defectiveness as disabled person but when I found the reason why I’m so blessed with it, it became my right hand in building a life with my wife.

The music of my right hand’s notes is my way of living a simple life. Music is my life and so my right flabby hand. They are my great gift from above. The fusion of these two in me creates a big way for me to harmonize anguish and bliss into one direction of a beautiful melody. They both help me bring home the dried fish, although not the bacon, but it’s better than nothing.

Now that I am living a life as a married man, definitely, responsibility is attached to it as a given task to do of a husband to his wife and family in sustaining a living as the usual. My wife deeply understands my situation and she doesn’t force me to find myself a job for our future, but I tried it. I applied as a call center agent in several companies in Manila and since I’m forever confined in my wheelchair, my body cannot comply with the everyday routine of being a worker. So now I’m a small time songwriter, doing a job at my own place.

I do accept personalized wedding, graduation, birthday and anniversary songs or even jingle for any kinds of ads. I’m telling you this true story of my life because my right hand needs your helping hands. I’m asking your hearts to help me continue writing songs that most are never heard but humbly inspired and touched the hearts of few people who believe in my talent as a songwriter, like this very good friend of mine, Kamalayang Kalayaan who is very supportive of me since the beginning of our friendship and now he allowed me to post this to his blog site for the help I need.

I need a brand new midi piano for me to be able to compose, arrange and record my music in good quality again, because the old keyboard I had, which donated to me in 1996, is now surrendering its long service. I need an M-AUDIO Keystation 61es – 61-Key Semi-Weighted USB MIDI Controller. I need your help for me to raise Php11, 250 for this midi piano I’m dreaming to have and I’m willing to wait for that dream to become true. Please allow me to expect your help and look forward to hear from your good hearts. Let me thank you ahead for reading this story of mine and I’m hoping, wishing and praying for achieving my simple dream to make it happen with your help.

The wheel of my life goes on with the people like you who believe in me and stand behind me. Pushing my chair headed for reaching my goal for our life’s future. You commence my world to wheel around and life is never alone in the four corners of my chair. My pen will write and my right hand will play the notes again to flourish, evolve and change to sing the song of my disability that will keep on playing.

Please email me at joeltangunan@gmail.com
or text or call at 09196988225.

you can also visit my sites…

my youtube site..to hear some of my compositions.
http://www.youtube.com/user/joeltangunan

my facebook account
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000480767059&ref=ts

I pray that the Most High bless you and your love ones always. Thank you and peace!

One response to “Thank You For Loving Me

  1. Thank you cards are almost the golden rule when it comes to business relations and friendship between the family and friends. Sometimes people do things that are beautiful and generous to others.

    Tips to fall into a routine of the handwriting of Thanks. If you do not want to send letters to boil for a business partner. These tips on how successful people write thank you cards should be a great way to start.

Leave a Reply

